News » Metro

Henry announces federal flood assistance available for Oklahoma, Cleveland counties



Gov. Brad Henry announced today federal authorities have approved 15 counties "? including Oklahoma and Cleveland "? for individual assistance following flooding and other severe weather earlier this spring and summer.


"This designation will provide much-needed help to hard-hit areas across the state," Henry said in a statement. "We are still compiling damage assessments and can seek additional aid based on those efforts.  The bottom line is we will push for as much federal aid as possible to help Oklahomans rebuild and recover."


Those living in the eligible counties can apply for the assistance for housing repairs or temporary housing, disaster unemployment assistance and grants not met by other programs. Affected citizens may call (800) 621-FEMA from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. seven days a week for more information.


Low-interest loans through the Small Business Administration are also available for individuals or businesses to repair or replace damaged property. Henry has requested the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture to deliver federal aid to affected farmers and ranchers throughout the state.


Other counties approved today included:

Blaine Bryan Canadian Cotton Grady Kiowa Logan McClain Payne Pontotoc Rogers Seminole Stephens

Comanche, Nowata, Ottowa, Pottawatomie and Washington were previously approved for assistance.



Speaking of News

Add a comment