News » Metro

Henry requests flood assistance



Gov. Brad Henry announced today he has requested federal disaster assistance for 17 counties including Oklahoma County.
The financial assistance would help state and local governments pay for flood-damaged roads, bridges and other infrastructure. Henry is asking the federal government to declare disaster areas for 17 counties: Bryan Comanche Cotton Custer Hughes Jefferson Kiowa Logan McIntosh Oklahoma Pawnee Payne Pontotoc Pottawatomie Seminole Stephens Tillman"The floods that have damaged hundreds of homes and businesses have also wreaked havoc on roads, bridges and other public structures," Henry said in a statement. "It will cost millions of dollars to repair the infrastructure, and state and local governments will need federal assistance to complete that process in a timely manner."  
For hard-hit northeastern counties, public damage assessments will be completing as high waters recede.
Earlier this month, Henry requested similar assistance for Comanche, Nowata and Pottawotamie counties. Ottowa and Washington counties were declared for individual assistance.


Latest in Metro

Add a comment