Visual Arts

Kiowa Six

When: Oct. 30-Jan. 17 2021

Between 1927 and 1929, six Kiowa artists created many paintings of Kiowa culture at the University of Oklahoma. Spencer Asah, James Auchiah, Jack Hokeah, Stephen Mopope, Lois Smoky, and Monroe Tsa-toke make up what is now referred to as the Kiowa Six. Kiowa Agency: Stories of the Six explores the ways in which they acted as strong agents of Kiowa cultural preservation during and after their residencies at OU.

Add a review


Select a star to rate.