News » Metro

State Department of Education releases preliminary School Improvement List



Oklahoma State Superintendent of Public Instruction Sandy Garrett announced today there are 62 state schools on the preliminary 2007 School Improvement List.

Schools are placed on the list if the students' test scores indicate they has not made sufficient adequate yearly progress for two consecutive years and can only be removed from the list if they achieve adequate yearly progress for two straight years.

In 2007, the minimum Academic Performance Index scores were raised in mathematics and reading to 932 and 914 from 790 and 768 in 2006. In 2006, there were 47 state schools on the list.

Schools have the option to appeal to the State Department of Education.

Oklahoma City schools listed as year one included Western Heights' Council Grove Elementary School and Oklahoma City Public Schools' Rogers Middle School, Taft Middle School and Webster Middle School.

Those listed as year two schools included Oklahoma City Public Schools' Coolidge Elementary School, F.D. Moon Academy for Mass Media, North Highland Math and Science School, Douglass Middle School and Douglass High School.

Year three schools in the Oklahoma City area included Putnam City West High School and Oklahoma City Public Schools' Spencer Elementary School, Jefferson Middle School, Emerson Alternative, U.S. Grant High School, Northwest Classen High School and Justice A.W. Seeworth Academy.

Those Oklahoma City-area schools in their fourth year are Oklahoma City Public Schools' Capitol Hill High School and John Wesley Charter School. - Gazette Staff

Latest in Metro

Add a comment